A Tale of Two Cities

Tag: Movie

Title: A Tale of Two Cities
AKA: A Tale of Two Cities
Year: 1958
Character: Marquis St. Evremonde
Director: Ralph Thomas
Cameraman: Ernest Steward
Screenplay: T.E.B. Clarke, Charles Dickens
Runtime: 117
Country: UK
Genre: Drama | History | Romance | War
Studio: Rank Organisation, The

Language: English
Audio: Mono (Westrex Recording System)
Colour: Black and White
Tagline: An immortal story... A brilliant cast... An unforgettable film of the French Revolution



Screenwriter T.E.B. Clarke, the writer of such fifties British comedies as The Lavender Hill Mob and Passport to Pimlico, dips his pen into a more stately inkwell in this stilted adaptation of Charles Dickens' classic novel A Tale of Two Cities. Dirk Bogarde takes the lead role of worn-down, drunken lawyer Sydney Carton, who finally wakes up from his stupor during the French Revolution to make the ultimate sacrifice for Lucie Manette (Dorothy Tutin), the love of his life. Also on hand are the evil tyrant Marquis St. Evermonde (Christopher Lee), the treacherous informer Barsad (Donald Pleasence), and the fanatical Madame Defarge (Rosalie Crutchley), who denounces Lucie and her husband Charles Darnay (Athene Seyler) to the tribunal.


Dirk Bogarde as Sydney Carton
Dorothy Tutin as Lucie Manette
Paul Guers as Charles Darnay
Marie Versini as Marie Gabelle
Ian Bannen as Gabelle
Cecil Parker as Jarvis Lorry
Stephen Murray as Dr. Manette
Athene Seyler as Miss Pross
Alfie Bass as Jerry Cruncher
Ernest Clark as Stryver
Rosalie Crutchley as Madame Defarge
Freda Jackson as The Vengeance
Duncan Lamont as Ernest Defarge
Christopher Lee as Marquis St. Evremonde
Leo McKern as Attorney General-Old Bailey
Donald Pleasence as John Barsad
Eric Pohlmann as Sawyer rest of cast listed alphabetically:
Dominique Boschero as Peasant Girl (uncredited)
Yves Brainville as Foulon (uncredited)
Michael Brennan as Tom, Coach Driver (uncredited)
Peter Copley as Mellor (uncredited)
Dominique Davray as  (uncredited)
Lesley Dudley as Minor Role (uncredited)
Jacques Dufilho as  (uncredited)
Danny Green as Grave Robber (uncredited)
Ray James as Minor role (uncredited)
Harold Kasket as Jailer (uncredited)
Sam Kydd as Joe, Coach Guard (uncredited)
Laurence Payne as President of Tribunal (uncredited)
Sacha Pitoëff as Gaspard (uncredited)
Robert Rietty as Foreman of Jury (uncredited)
George Rose as Roger Cly (uncredited)
Alan Tilvern as Grave Robber (uncredited)
Ian Whittaker as Stable Boy (uncredited)
George Woodbridge as Innkeeper, Dover (uncredited)


Copyright 2000-2011 Christopher Lee Web. All rights reserved. | Terms and ConditionsPrivacy Statement | Contact Us | Top of Page